Garden Veggie & Bacon Egg Bake (Paleo)

2016-02-23 17.04.39 (2)

Well I’m into my pregnancy about 6 weeks and have become as nauseous as ever!  The weird thing is that I still get hungry and crave certain things.  I have to eat that specific thing right away or I get sick.  I definitely feel like a real pregnant girl now!

I don’t know why but one day I was craving all of these foods combined.  I decided to create this recipe based on my real need to eat and satisfy my weird craving.  Ends up that it’s actually pretty tasty for those who aren’t pregnant too! LOL…  I love it when my family actually likes the healthy meals create as I go.

I get my bacon at Sprouts or Whole Foods.  It’s Paleo Approved Bacon because it has no sugar added.  It tastes amazing so I don’t really know why there is sugar in all the others, but just pay attention next time you are at the market looking for bacon.

These tomatoes are divine.  I purchased these and the squash at my local Farmers Market, and I can’t get enough!  What is it about garden fresh fruits and veggies that you get from a farmers market versus the grocery store?!  Sooo much tastier!  I’m trying to grow some of my own herbs and veggies, we will see how I do in this crazy AZ sun!

So… one more thing.. I topped this dish with Avocado and Fresh Cilantro.  It added some more nutrition but I just love avocado.  Ok, now go make this dish and Enjoy!

 

Ingredients:

2-3 Cloves of Galic, minced or roughly chopped

1/2 Jalepeno, chopped small

2 Sprigs of fresh Thyme

Fresh Cilantro to taste

Sea salt & Pepper to taste

1 T Avocado Oil

3 Lg Eggs

1/2 Red Pepper, sliced

1/2 Green Pepper, sliced

1 Cup Fresh Spinach

1 Small Zucchini, sliced

1 small Yellow squash, sliced

6-8 Pieces of cooked Bacon

2-3 small tomatoes (try yellow and red)

Directions:

  1. Preheat oven to 400 degrees F.
  2. In a frying pan add oil and heat on medium high.   Once heated, add garlic and jalepeno and quick stir for a minute.
  3. Add in Peppers, sea salt, black pepper and thyme.
  4. Place Spinach on top, don’t stir.
  5. Layer on sliced squash, bacon and tomatoes.
  6. Lastly, crack eggs right on top in 3 different places and place directly in the preheated oven.
  7. Bake for about 5 minutes.
  8. Remove and top with fresh Cilantro
  9. Serve Immedietely.

2016-02-23 17.04.30 (2)

ENJOY!!

File Jan 20, 7 53 47 PM

Jenny- Health Nut & Founder of Pure Goodies

 

Leave a Reply

