Paleo Granola

2016-02-04 09.17.54 (2)

I taught my first cooking class a couple weeks ago.  I was nervous and excited, and not sure I was justly certified to teach.  Yet, I did and it went really well!  I was teaching a large group of 16-18 year old young ladies and their adult teachers.  I decided to show them how to make Acai Bowls and my Vanilla Almond Cardamom Scones (recipe is on the blog).

cooking class

We talked a lot about health and nutrition while making food.  It was fun to help this group understand that food can be healthy and taste amazing.  My passion for food is what drives me to develop healthy recipes.  I live the Paleo Lifestyle and I want to share that it can still be delicious, even when most of your common ingredients need to be substituted!

I whipped up some granola to throw on top of the Acai Bowls that night.  I made it up as I went along, but made sure to write down every ingredient.  I use to make up recipes and not write them down during the process.  I quickly learned that I needed to be organized and document what I create.  I was then able to better my blog and remake the recipes I developed.

2016-01-29 10.51.14

The group loved the granola, and asked for the recipe… So I am finally getting to it!  I love adding this granola to my Paleo Yogurt bowls too.  Check out my post on Paleo yogurt Bowl recipe.  So here is my Paleo version of “granola”, and it can be Vegan as well, just exclude the egg white!

 

PALEO Granola Recipe

Ingredients:

1/2 C Raw Almonds, coarsely chopped

2/3 C Raw Cashews, coarsely chopped

1/2 C Raw Sunflower Seeds, coarsely chopped

1 C Raw Pepitas, coarsely chopped

3/4 C Unsweetened Shredded Coconut

1/2 C Raw Honey ( Add less if you desire less sweetness)

1/4 C Grade B Maple Syrup

1 C Dried fruit of choice {raisins, zante currants, apple sweetened cranberries} *Optional* You can leave fruit out for plain granola

1 T Ground Cinnamon

1 tsp. Sea Salt (Pink Himalayan Salt is my favorite)

1 egg white, lightly beaten *optional* don’t use if you want this to be Vegan

3 T Coconut oil, melted

1 tsp. Vanilla

 

Directions:

  1.  Preheat oven to 300 degrees F.
  2. Prepare a baking sheet with parchment paper.
  3. To coarsely chop your nuts and seeds, add one type at a time, to food processor and pulse on high until you reach desired texture.  Be sure not to process to long and turn nuts or seeds into butters.
  4. If using egg white in this recipe, lightly beat in a separate bowl and set aside.
  5. Add all ingredients in a mixer bowl, adding egg white last, and mix very well.
  6. Scoop the mixture onto your prepared baking sheet and smooth out evenly with a rubber spatula.
  7. Place in oven and bake 40-45 min. or until golden brown.  Stir once after 10 min, then again after 20 minutes and one more time before it’s done.
  8. Take out of oven and cool on a wire rack.  *Mixture will not be crisp until it cools completely!
  9. Store in a glass jar on counter.
2016-01-29 10.59.00
 ENJOY!!
File Jan 20, 7 53 47 PM
Jenny- Health Nut & Founder of Pure Goodies

 

 

Leave a Reply

